What happens when I’m bored….

A while back, I purchased 2 skeins of Knitpicks Bare yarn in the Merino/Silk blend (fingering weight) along with a small jar of the Jacquard acid dye in silver gray.  I already have the primary colors in the Jacquard dye, but really felt like experiementing with the color gray.

On Wednesday, I spent the majority of my day handpainting a skein of this yarn in shades of the silver gray.  I found a really good tutorial online which helped a lot.  I also snapped a few pictures of the dyeing process:

The actual handpainting process took a lot longer than I thought it would, but it was so much fun.   I’m definitely going to continue handpainting/dyeing yarn because I’m finding that I enjoy this process almost as much as knitting.  Scary thought, huh?!?  I’ve got a new color in mind, which I’m going to experiment with this weekend, and will blog about next week.

This color reminds me of foggy summer mornings and so I have rightly named it “Fog”.  I’ll be using this color again, I’m sure, for other projects.  Maybe a simple lace cardigan or as a color for the Color Affection Shawl.  For now, this one skein is going to be used to knit the Dream Swatch Duo (head wrap only) and the leftovers might be used in a future colorwork project.  Have a great weekend everyone!!

Leave a Reply

