Lessons I Have Learned

Weather:  Lilli Bug Lane Designs

1)      Never attempt to start a new knitting project when you’re tired.  This never works out the way you intended and leaves you frustrated all night.

2)      Never attempt to start a new knitting project right before bedtime.  Again, this never works out and once mistakes are made, you will be mulling them over in your mind all night long.

3)      Always keep a Stitchionary handy, especially when you are unsure of how a stitch pattern should look.  Most patterns will come with “stitch guides” but I always like to double check myself with a Stitchionary, since I’m usually knitting at night, before bedtime, while extremely tired from a long day, and everything I’m reading off the pattern is getting jumbled in my head.

As you can tell, last night’s KAL cast-on did not go the way I had hoped.  My first attempt resulted in my stitch pattern (what was supposed to be seed stitch) looking like a mix of garter & rib stitch for the first few rows.  About the sixth row, I figured out what I was doing wrong and ripped out my stitches to start over.  My second attempt resulted in screwing up my RS (right side) and WS (wrong side) rows.  I should have read the pattern more carefully (and been a little more awake) before trying this project a second time.  However, I plan on frogging what I’ve done tonight and this time getting it right.  As they say, third time’s a charm!

Leave a Reply

