New Baby Chicks

As I was rushing out the door this morning, late for work again, I happened to hear the tail-end of the answering machine notifying me that my 8 baby chicks had arrived and would be available for pickup until 4:00 pm today.  The thought of those cute fuzz-balls had me ecstatic until I realized that I have to work until 5:00 pm.  All of that excitement rushed out of me as I realized that I had to trust my mom to pickup the chicks, drive home with the chicks, and carefully place the chicks in their temporary “home” (a.k.a. the cardboard box).  This is the same person who told me last year, with a smile on her face, that the box of baby chicks was so light that she could carry it with one hand.  So, I did what any normal person would do:  I laid out the ground rules!  First, handle the chick box with two hands, not one, even though the box is light as a feather and can easily be handled with one hand.  Second, don’t make any sudden stops while chick box is in car.  Third, when transporting chicks to their new “home”, use two hands.  Fourth, bring backup with you (a.k.a. dad) and don’t try to do this job alone.  How did she react to my rules?  Well, let’s just say that she told me to go read a book, forget about it & stop being a “Mother Hen”.  Did the baby chicks survive their transport from the Milling to the house?  Of course they did!  I had complete faith & trust all along… honest!  🙂

Baby chicks safe in their home
Aren’t we cute?!

The varieties I picked this year are the following:

 
  • 2 Silver Lace Wyandottes
  • 2 Ameraucanas (a.k.a. Easter Egg chickens)
  • 2 Buff Orpingtons
  • 2 white chickens (I can’t remember their exact name… I only know that they are not Leghorns & that they will be white at maturity… Delawares perhaps?)

These gals will join my 8 beautiful Plymouth Rocks that I raised last year.  This time of the year on a farm, even if it is just a hobby farm, is always so precious to me.  I love taking part in God’s creation. 

Leave a Reply

