Finished : Susie’s Mittens

Picking ThymeI am in love with these mittens!  This is the first pair of mitts that I’ve ever knit and the timing couldn’t have been more perfect.  Maine’s weather turned seasonably cold just as I finished these beauties.  In fact, I got the chance to test them for the first time on December 1 at the town’s annual light parade.  Although, no mitten can withstand 15 degree temps for over an hour while watching pretty, twinkling parade floats.  But, in their defense, they did hold up for almost the complete hour before I lost feeling in a few of my fingers.  :)

Pattern:  Bella’s Mittens by Marielle Henault (subliminalrabbit)

Yarn:  Reynolds Lopi (used only 1 skein, which I had in stash!!)

Modifications:  I followed another Raveler’s mods and started the mitten at round 16, which shortened the length quite a bit.  The length is actually quite perfect (for me anyway) and the mitts fit neatly inside the sleeves of my winter jacket.

DSC00409These mitts are so wooly and warm… I’m in love!  I’m even considering knitting this pattern again, except modifying the original mitten into a fingerless one for work.  These would be lovely as fingerless mitts!

Ravelry Project Page Here!

One thought on “Finished : Susie’s Mittens

Leave a Reply

