The Yarn Stash

I’ve decided to start knitting through my yarn stash, which I have been collecting for the past 3 or 4 years. I didn’t realize how much yarn I had been accumulating until I started organizing my stash over the summer. This means that I’m officially putting myself on a yarn shopping hiatus until I can at least knit through half of what I have stored in my bookcases, plastic bins, closet, etc. (yes, I stash yarn in as many open places as I can find) My first destashing project is going to be a new winter scarf for me, me, me. That’s right, I realize the Christmas season is approaching and I should be knitting for others, but every year that I attempt this feat, I always end up stressed, frustrated and desperately wanting to throw my yarn/project outside in the snow. Basically, knitting becomes a chore instead of a creative outlet and I don’t want that happening again this year, especially with how stressful the holiday season can be. The only folks receiving a handknit gift this year are my parents and their gifts are super simple garter stitch scarves, one of which I have already completed. I also plan on knitting my friend a pair of fingerless mittens and possibly a pair of regular mittens, but I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it. And, as I’m knitting through the stash, folks I know might be surprised with a handknit gift throughout 2013, which is always a nice surprise. :)

The first few skeins of yarn to be used up is my Cascade Eco Duo (approx. 4 skeins).  I purchased the natural colorway, which is a light cream/beige color.  This yarn is super soft and I can’t wait to start working with it.  I had originally purchased this yarn to make a cabled cardigan, but since I don’t want to start anymore large projects in the next few weeks, now this yarn will be knit into a beautiful winter scarf.  I need a new scarf, especially one that is soft and warm.  Emphasis on soft.  The last thing any knitter wants is an itchy scarf wrapped tightly around their necks when it’s cold outside and the snow is blowing.

So, here’s to destashing over the next 6 months or so and hopefully I can keep to my resolution.  Also, my Cable/Lace Kimono Cardigan should be finished this week and I’m hoping to have FO pictures taken this weekend.  I’m so excited to finally have a finished sweater that I can wear… can’t wait to show it off!!

2 thoughts on “The Yarn Stash

Leave a Reply

